The Challenge of Feeding Twins

IMG_6234-2My twins have been exclusively bottle fed from around the age of six weeks. Breastfeeding didn’t work out for us for a few reasons, and they are for another post… but feeding two – however you do it – is not easy!

When my husband returned to work, each day on my own was a challenge. We had decided early on that we would try to keep both boys on the same feeding schedule, as they had done in the hospital. One pair of arms, one bottle, one baby -easy. And then I’m on my own. For a while I fed one after the other, but this usually led to one baby crying while waiting to be fed.  Necessity being the mother of invention, I enlisted the help of my pregnancy pillow and have since propped the boys up against it to feed them together. It may not be ideal, but it works for us. (Oh, the things you learn to do one-handed in early parenthood!) So that’s home sorted. But what about elsewhere? I can’t help feeling a tiny bit envious of all my NCT friends enjoying leisurely lunches with their singletons.  Is feeding multiples in public places impossible? Does anyone manage this before they’re old enough to sit in a high chair? Or perhaps there are people out there brave enough to feed one at a time in public and brush off the looks they may get if the other baby cries? I would love to hear your experiences!

Leave a Reply

